Writing!

Ink on paper is as beautiful to me as flowers on the mountains; God composes, why shouldn’t we?~Audra Foveo-Alba

Words – so innocent and powerless as they are, as standing in a dictionary,

how potent for good and evil they become in the hands of one who knows how to combine them.  ~Nathaniel Hawthorne


You write to communicate to the hearts and minds of others what’s burning inside you ~Arthur Polotnik

 

Every writer I know has trouble writing.  ~Joseph Heller

(but of course this is unacceptable if you work as a copywriter like I am at the moment! :P)

 

Writing comes more easily if you have something to say.  ~Sholem Asch

 

If I don’t write to empty my mind, I go mad.  ~Lord Byron

(Yes, real mad! :P)

 

The best time for planning a book is while you’re doing the dishes.  ~Agatha Christie

(Uhuh, take that advice Om! :P)

 

If you want to get rich from writing, write the sort of thing that’s read by persons who move their lips when they’re reading to themselves.  ~Don Marquis


Write your first draft with your heart.  Re-write with your head.  ~From the movie Finding Forrester

 

It is impossible to discourage the real writers – they don’t give a damn what you say, they’re going to write.  ~Sinclair Lewis

 

Writing is both mask and unveiling.  ~E.B. White

 

An author in his book must be like God in the universe, present everywhere and visible nowhere.  ~Gustave Flaubert

 

If I fall asleep with a pen in my hand, don’t remove it – I might be writing in my dreams.  ~Danzae Pace

A story should have a beginning, a middle, and an end… but not necessarily in that order.  ~Jean Luc Godard

 

Writing is a way of talking without being interrupted.  ~Jules Renard, Journal, 10 April 1895

 

I never think at all when i write
nobody can do two things at the same time
and do them both well
~Don Marquis, Archy’s Life of Mehitabel, 1933

 

I even shower with my pen, in case any ideas drip out of the waterhead.  ~Graycie Harmon

 

Keep a diary and one day it’ll keep you.  ~Mae West

(True! My diaries now has reached a number of 23 since I started writing those in elementary school! Do not under estimate the power of a diary! :P)

 

An original writer is not one who imitates nobody, but one whom nobody can imitate.  ~Chateaubriand, Le Génie du Christianisme, 1802



Share your experience in the comments box below :)

