“7 Pounds” reminds me with…

Seven names. Seven Stangers. One secret.

7-pounds1I’ve finally watched “7 Pounds” movie just now. I’ve read the movie preview in a magazine last month, was interested with the storyline and been waiting for this movie to come out in Indonesia’s cinemas.

My bf had been a spoiler to what the story really is since he has come to watch it first in Melbourne few weeks ago (yeah rite grrrr…huehehehe :P) and he’s told me it is a good movie and has a very good moral story behind it. My other friend two weeks ago also told me he’s watched it through dvd (bajakan pastinya krn blm keluar di bioskop Indo, ehem ehem..hahaha.. xP) and really suggested me to watch it as well.

 

Few hours ago I was actually planning to watch “Mamamia”, borrowing it from my brother. Then when I flick through his dvd collections, I was suprised to find he actually has bought 7 Pounds dvd too! hahaha… Trying to decide between Mamamia and 7 Pounds, I finally choose the later one.

Usually I don’t want to watch ‘heavy and deep movies’ alone. I prefer the funny, romantic comedy or any chick flick movies (tp jg jgn yg cheesy), cos sometimes I think of the movies too seriously hence affecting my mood afterwards (if it’s a sad movie nanti bs ke-bawa2 sedihnya hahaha.. :P).

But well, tonight I just decide to choose the 7 Pounds deh, since I was so curious to really follow what the story and the acting instead of just satisfied with what my bf told me over the phone hahaha…

And friends, I can recommend you also to watch it! It is a really good movie, and Will Smith acted so well (like most of his movies for me personally 😉 If I may give you just a glimpse of the story (don’t worry I won’t be a movie spoiler like someone who was hihihi :P).

 

Will Smith played as a tax collector name Ben Thomas. He has suffered a trauma, a life-changing experience (not a good one of course since I mention the word of “trauma) – I won’t tell you what was going on, you just watch it hehe. Then after that he just committed to do something good to 7 people he chose by his own will. Not just something good, but I call it as a sacrifice for what he would do to each of those 7 people.

Now I won’t tell you either what he did, how the story ended, why it has to be “7”.  I can feel the atmosphere of the movie most of the times surrounded by gloominess since in the beginning (well it means he acted really well, during the movie my mood kok jd agak2 gloomy jg jdnya yah..hueee… I just felt as if I could feel his suffering, his sadness and depression.. knp g kl nonton kok serius banget yah… hahahaha :P). As the movie continued the emotion got built up… Alurnya bagus sih, timeline-nya kuat. Dimulai dr adegan “present” trus backflash, di tengah2nya ada potongan adegan-adegan yg dr waktu sblmnya lagi (if I learn smt about movie making I should have known what to call gaya cerita di film yg tipe kaya gini, sayangnya tdk, jd semoga anda bs mengerti with what I describe at the above t’utama kalo yg udah nonton filmnya huehehe), klimaksnya pun jg well presented.

 

Well, if what my bf learn from this movie is about how to be a blessing to all people around us as much as we can (like Paul said in Galatians 6:10 “Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, especially to those who beloong to the family of believers”), for me suprisingly in one specific scene towards the end of the movie, my heart suddenly said to myself, “that is what Jesus has done to you too“……

If I may summarize the story into one word, that would be a SACRIFICE. What Ben did to all of those 7 people cost him his life… but he still did it (the reason may not be partly right because.., arghhhh, you just watch it ok when it comes out in Indo, for those who have must get what I mean :P). All of those 7 people  who still continue to live (errr… have I implied he will be dead in this movie…? ups, hahahaha :P) must have always remembered what they can enjoy now and how they would miss the beauty of life if it wasn’t because the sacrifice of Ben….

 

The same also happen to me… I wouldn’t be able to live a free life like I do now if Jesus didn’t at the first place sacrifice Himself as the atonement of my sins! I should had still live in darkness, but He brought me into light and life. I should had deserved the eternal punishment yet He saved me from the real death.

Ephesians 2:3b-8

“…Like the rest, we were by nature objects of wrath. But because of His great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions – it is by grace you have been saved.

And God raised us up with Christ and seated us with Him in the heavenly realms in Christ Jesus, in order that in the coming ages He might show the incomparable riches of His grace, expressed in His kindness to us in Christ Jesus.

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith – and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God”.

 

It is a gift. Just like Ben picked randomly 7 people who deserved what the next thing he would do to each of them, even better, God choose ALL of us to receive the gift of salvation, free, although we do not deserve it!

Some of of those 7 people at first rejected what Ben would like to do to him/her, some of them rejected the goodness he about to do. Yet eventually when they did not know what to do anymore with their life problem and to whom they should run to, they called Ben and agreed to receive his help.

The same also applies to us. Some of us may be proudly said, “No thanks God, You are nice, but I am ok with myself, really, thanks”.. or “Why do You even care to me?!! What You can do anyway?!!!”….

or, “OK I know You about to do good things for me, but surely there must be something behind it that I need to repay, right? I don’t think I can, so better not at the first place for me to receive You in my life, I don’t know what will come next, maybe You will put too many burdens and restrictions over my life that would make me cannotenjoy my life like how it was supposed to be”……

 

Good news, there isn’t any ‘catch’ behind it. As I said, it is a gift. We do not need to repay. It is free (see the verses I wrote from Ephesians at above), because it is by grace. And why God cares for us? Why He has to spend energy to love human like us? Because He was the one who created each one of us at the first place!

Don’t you think you will love something very much that you create by your own? And what makes you think that God won’t do the same? Even God created us by His own image (Genesis 1:27)! We did not just self existed or worse, originated from monkeys??? Come on! *geleng-geleng… hehehe…

 

And also, life of a Christian isn’t always easy, the problem we face are just the same with everyone else, He never promised us an easy path anyway. In fact, He said to us to enter the narrow gate instead of the wide, easy one! But if what God only meant was to give us more burdens by such “rules” we suddenly have once we are a Christian, why He did even care to promise us joy, abundance of blessing, protection, guidance, love, peace, help in time of need and soo many others in the Bible a.k.a. His own words?!

Why Jesus even bothered to say to the crowd, “Come to Me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest” (Matthew 11:28)?

He must’ve loved us so much! So much that He gave His own life for us so we can continue to live, continue to live remembering what He has done for us with our praise and thanksgiving hearts!

 

I am just so thankful that He reminds me again what He has done in my life through this movie. Not to ask me to repay or ‘work harder to do good even more’, but simply just to remind me how much He has loved me all of these times, how much He wants me to live my life to the fullest, how much He wants me to share it to the people surround me too.

Thank You Lord, just a perfect time tonight for tomorrow I will celebrate Holy Communion at my church….

 

(Originally posted at https://crunchynat.wordpress.com/)

Share your experience in the comments box below :)

