I Will Keep Praying!

My heart was filled with greater hope after I read these following paragraphs in the book I’m currently reading, “Too Busy Not to Pray” by Bill Hybels…

Some years ago we had a baptism Sunday when hundreds of people publicly affirmed their decision to follow Christ. It was incredible! Afterwards, on the stairs, I bumped into a woman who was crying. I couldn’t understand how anyone could weep after such a celebration, so I stopped and asked her if she was alright.
‘No’, she explained, ‘I’m struggling. My mother was baptized today’
‘This is a problem?’ I thought.
‘I prayed for her every day for twenty years’, the woman said, and then she started crying again.

‘You’re going to have to help me understand this’, I said.
‘I’m crying’, the woman replied, ‘because I came so close -so close- to giving up on her.
I mean, after five years, I said, “Who needs this? God isn’t listening”.
After ten years, I said, ‘Why am I wasting my breath?’
After fifteen years, I said, ‘This is absurd’.
After nineteen years, I said, ‘I’m just a fool’.
But even though my faith was weak, I kept praying. And finally she gave her life to Christ. And that woman was baptized today.

Looking me dead in the eye, she said, “I will never doubt the power of prayer again”.

I believe one day the day will come for my father to believe in Christ and be baptized in His name… I believe one day he will truly know that Christ loves him so much that He has died for him on the cross even before he accepts Him in his life…
I believe God is faithful to His promise in 2 Peter 3:9, “The Lord is not slow in keeping his promise, as some understand slowness. He is patient with you, not wanting anyone to perish, but everyone to come to repentance

This is the fifth year I’ve been praying for his salvation, and I know God is working, even though His ways are not my ways and His timing isn’t the same with mine… I will not give hope… I will persevere… Because I know as I keep praying for him, God will add my love even more for him and his soul…

I want to enjoy the journey, Lord…

This is a matter of ‘life and death’, but I know even without this my life have been complete in You. Not the answered prayers that foremostly give a fulfilling life for me, but You alone firstly have completed me, Lord…

Lord, strengthen me as I keep praying in hope… guard my heart so I will not become disappointed throughout the waiting… Comfort me with the joy of Your Holy Spirit… Keep sharing Your heart with me, God… bring me closer to You…

I love my dad, Lord… but I know You definitely love him much more than I do, that You have died for his sins on the cross more than two thousand years ago…

Thank You Lord God… Now I am ready to have rest in You this night 🙂

I Love You Dad 🙂
Share your experience in the comments box below :)

