Journey on a Boat “Part 2”

I become to understand taking a trip in a boat and get out of it does not happen only once in a while. I actually have gone out of that boat many times throughout my life. If days ago I wrote, I’d better prefer to stay in the boat after what has happened recently, now I realize I AM out of the boat already when I made the decision months ago! I realize getting out of the boat DID make me growing. I am what I am today because I’ve gone out of the boat many times before, following where God’s leading me, whether I am aware or not.

I did go out of the boat, to name a few, when:

– I chose to enter a high school with highest standard in my neighbourhood. I was afraid at the beginning, afraid to have failing grades at this school well-known for its ‘extreme difficulty’, but then by God’s grace I graduated succesfully; my fear has been proven false – it was only fear; not a fact. If I never went out of the boat of  ‘playing safe and living mediocre life’, I’d never know doing things diligently and learn to be discipline and under pressure.

– I chose to continue my study to overseas, leaving my family behind, leaving neighbourhood that I’ve been familiar with since my first twenty years of life. I ended up to love Melbourne, it is my second home for the last eight years. Moreover, I found the One who created me there, the One who has sacrificed Himself at the cross to prepare for me my True Home in Heaven. If I never went out of the boat of my home’s comfort, I’d never learn the rich experience of being independent, the beauty of friendships with brothers and sisters in Christ, and the other side of a different yet interesting lifestyle. 

– I chose someone who is now my fiance, who soon will be my husband. I chose him two years ago risking my heart and life, depending only on God’s faithfulness in guiding me. If I never went out of the boat to be with him, I’d never know the beauty of true love and marriage in God.

What a true and precious treasure I’ve gained by getting out of my boat, choices that I’ve made at the past had shaped me to become what I am now!

So, now here is the case:

– When I chose to open up my own business, then I can’t say that this one is succesful. If I never went out of the boat ‘taking risk to achieve my dream’; what things I’d never know about? 

This is my homework.

I believe I will be able to list even more things after that, things that will reflect how faithful God is in my life!

It’s just now, I have new opinion: I have agreed to what John Ortbeg said in his book (read Journey on a Boat ‘Part 1’) – we do have to go out from the boat to have our faith tested, to taste the true living as a Christian who always depend on God’s grace and mercy!

I realize I don’t want to be ‘Boat Potatoes’ . Reading this paragraph below makes me scared of ‘living a bored and wasted life’:

'The Boat Potato'

The common cold of the soul.

To sinful patterns of behavior that never get confronted and changed,

Abilities and gifts that never get cultivated and deployed-

Until weeks become months, and months turn into years,

And one day you’re looking back on a life of

Deep intimate gut-wrenchingly honest conversationns you never had;

Great bold prayers you never prayed,

Exhilarating risks you never took,

Sacrificial gifts you never offered,

Lives you never touched,

And you’re sitting in a recliner with a shriveled soul, and forgotten dreams,

And you realize there was a world of desperate need,

And a great God calling you to be part of something bigger that yourself-

You see the person you could have become but did not;

You never followed your calling.

You never got out of the boat.

There is no tragedy like the tragedy of the unopened gift.

I have agreed with You until this point, Lord. That yes, I do have to get out of the boat, to come and walk on the water. I MUST, if I want to live a life meaningfully; one that I’ve been asking six years ago before then You came and answered my prayer…

Go on, Lord. Continue to talk to me through this book… and thank You God, I love You.

3 thoughts on “Journey on a Boat “Part 2”

Share your experience in the comments box below :)

