“Time of Gethsemane”

We’re still undergoing difficult times for these couple of months… We’re still struggling in our financial meanwhile our baby is due soon on September.. Nothing else we can do other than giving our best effort and surrender to God…

 

Nevertheless God is still and always faithful. Monday this week I received God’s comfort and revelation from Matthew 26:36-46, when Jesus struggled and prayed in Gethsemane.

I have known this story before I was born again in the Lord, even since I was a kid, but this time these verses really touched me in a different way than before.

I was so touched and amazed by how focused Jesus was in pleasing the heart of God even sacrificing His own wills (and to the point of His death, and not for something He did either).

"Longing to Please God the Father"

He told James and John that night how His soul was so crushed with grief to the point of death (v.38) yet His own disciples didn’t really get what He truly felt that night; how anguished He was, they even fell asleep eventhough He had asked them to watch and pray with Him. More or less I could imagine how troubled and sad He was at that night, with noone to understand how He truly felt…

He prayed the same prayer for three times, before then He understood His will wasn’t God’s will… While Jesus was still on earth, He had a very intimate relationship with His Father, He knew exactly what pleases God’s heart and could discern which God’s wills or not… He could accept the truth that God wouldn’t set Him free from His betrayers…

He said in v.45-46, “Go ahead and sleep. Have your rest. But look – the time has come. The Son of Man is betrayed into the hand of sinners. Up, let’s be going. Look, my betrayer is here!”

He was finally ready and accepted “God’s cup” for Him…

 

After I read these that night and now everytime I ponder back on these verses, I felt somehow God is giving me comfort and desire to follow Jesus’ example, on how much He wanted me to please Him – not for His ego, but for my own goodness!

I still can’t figure out God’s plan behind all my trials, even last night I cried asking patience to endure ‘imperfectness’ in my life. But I can feel the Holy Spirit within me, pouring out a new desire to my heart to surrender and trust God wholly, to persevere and just focus on pleasing Him. All the imperfectness that I’m having now is PERFECT in God’s eyes because they are all according to His plan. His plans are higher than my own plans, and His plans are all the best and will only bring hope and future in my life.

Please pray for our (me & my husband) faith to be strengthen day-by-day, and not having negative view on what seems like ‘negative circumstances’… God bless and love you all readers 🙂

“My Father! If it is possible, let this cup of suffering be taken away from Me. Yet I want Your will to be done, not Mine” – Matthew 26:39

 

 

Share your experience in the comments box below :)

