“Cherish The Present”

(This note was copied pasted from my laptop transferred to my Blackberry then here -since I don’t have Internet connection at home *_*)

“Cherish the Present”

Thursday, October 27, 2011

Ecclesiastes 7:10
“Do not say, why was it that the former days were better than these? For you do not ask wisely in regard to this”

The above verse took me to the heart as I read it from my morning devotional. Whenever I face difficult times here in Indo, I’ve always looked to my former days in Melbourne. Not only specifically on that term but whenever I face changes which take me out of my comfort zone, I always ‘dream of’ my former days!

For example, when I see my present family veracity, I always wanted to go back to my childhood where all members of family still enjoyed having the company of each other (Sunday was our family day, long long time ago). One of my favorite childhood memories is when we used to go to Pizza Hut, ordering many pans of large pizzas just to get the Smurfs collectable (we finally collected them all, even including the play set. Playing with those Smurfs with my own scenario was one of my favorite activities when I was a kid hihi). I loved the ‘spirit and unity’ in us, we managed to stuff those pizzas into our tummy as much as we could (and I didn’t care for counting the calories back then haha). Another loveable memory is, we always visited our grandma (from mom’s side) every Sunday at Kebayoran (her old house before she moved to Pondok Indah with family of mom’s younger brother) and there were these two ‘abang-abang’ selling meatballs soup and ‘Kembang Tahu’ (soft texture of tofu mixed with ginger) who always came over there too. Meatballs and Kembang Tahu became our must menu every Sunday morning at grandma’s house. Then we usually went also to Lippomal Karawaci afterwards, three of us (me and my brothers) loved to play at the arcade (they had mini rollercoaster and adventurous playground). Other thing I still can remember from my ‘childhood treasure box’ is, when ‘Bodyguard’ (played by Kevin Costner and Whitney Houston) and ‘Sister Act’ (how could anyone not knowing of this movie? Hehe..) were played at same time in Glodok Plaza cinema (this used to be our favorite hangout place. Now even the place has become a history), mom and dad urged all the kids to watch the Sister Act instead and not following them because Bodyguard is an ‘adult movie’.. hahaha.. Well, those memories are only a few I could remember (I kinda having short term memory, that’s why I love to write in my blog or journal about what’s happening whenever I have chance) and I love to replay them in my mind, in my own way.

What I didn’t realize is, as the devotional writes, those memories are usually only that special in our own mind. We set ourselves in nostalgic mood for situations that didn’t actually exist. We may remember our childhood or other life phase as ‘perfect’ when it actually wasn’t. Flaws might still have happened, but still we’d rather choose to go back to our past simply because we don’t like our present.
Thing that usually brings us to look back to our past or wish to hurriedly go to our future is change. It is human to dislike change most of the times. We tend to think even though the world change, it won’t change us or people whom we love. The truth is, we change, they change. Only God doesn’t.

Ecclesiastes 7:14 (NIV) says, “When times are good, be happy; but when times are bad, consider: God has made the one as well as the other. Therefore, a man cannot discover anything about his future”

So, if we cannot turn back our time to the past and at the same time unable to know what lays ahead in our future, what’s left is only the present. This may cause distress to some people. But for all believers, God has promised us “peace which passes all understanding that shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4:7).

I can gain peace by accepting I cannot turn back the time and giving thank for the memories.
I can gain peace by surrendering to God whatever happens in the future will only bring me good (Romans 8:28).
I can gain peace by enjoying every seconds of my present, commit to cherish every moment, whether it’s joyful or tearful.

That is the lesson of today. Enjoy our present as much as we can, because we never know one day we may miss it and think that it is simply perfect. Then there is no place left for regret.

Share your experience in the comments box below :)

