Journey to Promised Land Part 1

Once again, we have to move out from our comfort zone. And once again, it has something to do with the “Promised Land” – A land destined from God to us, the meaning can be literally “land” (place we live) or certain spiritual/maturity level we desire to achieve in God. Although promised by God, to posses it requires faith.

My journey as a nomad began in February 2002 when I came to Melbourne for my Uni, life’s all “settled” until 2008 when I decided to ‘back for good’ to Jakarta for one main reason: my parents. The dilemma overwhelmed me, but there I chose to return to Jakarta, hoping I could bring a “positive effect” in my family.

Turned out that year of 2008, God was focusing on other part of my life, part which was critical and crucial for my future journey: lifetime partner in Christ! Haha… That year I met and have been into a relationship with my now-husband 🙂

Then the similar dilemma happened again. I decided to return to Melbourne in 2009 firstly to accompany my younger brother while he was completing his study, secondly to be closer with my then-boyfriend (yep we were in long distance relationship for a while).

The plan to get married then came along… I was proposed in Melbourne *blush* then that big decision came again and I don’t know why back then I had, ‘by default’, decided to go ‘back for good’ to Jakarta, but I think I knew the reason. Once again it was because of my parents.

So we were back to Jakarta in end of July 2010, and wondering could this be our “Promised Land”?

I should have known back then that my nomad journey hasn’t ended (my Permanent Residence visa is also still ‘open’). And by my mouth, I did speak that I shall wait until Aimee turned one then we’ll move back again to Melbourne.

So, exactly 2 days before Aimee’s birthday on September, the “momentum” arrived. The opportunity to move back to Melbourne started lurking. From that point we were busy with the BIG plan, if not even HUGE, because now we have Aimee, all things have to be considered carefully.

We had come to a point where the plan almost failed, and all we could do is surrender. Then the door started to open again a bit, and wider.

This morning…

Adi has arrived in Melbourne. He did go first to ensure and explore the possibilities for us to move back there. I feel he’s like either Joshua or Caleb among the twelve Israelites spies sent to eyeing Canaan, the Promised Land. What message will he send back? What does he see? Unbeatable giants? Or like Joshua and Caleb, they didn’t see or focus on giants, instead, they saw “a land full of milk and honey”?

“The land we searched is a wonderful land. The Lord promised it to us. Do not turn back or be afraid. The Lord is with us. Let us go forward!”

That is what Joshua and Caleb reported back to Moses and the Israelites did not believe the two so God told them that all the men 20 years and older would not enter into the Promised Land due to their lack of faith and belief in Him. He said that they would all wander in the desert for the next 40 years until they all literally died out in the desert. God says that their carcasses would fall in this wilderness and that their sons would be shepherds bearing the brunt of their infidelity towards God. The spies that went into to spy out the land did so for 40 days. As a result of this bad report – God pronounces judgment that they should wander in the wilderness for 40 years to match up with the 40 days that they had spied out the land for (Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/19374).

How scary it was!?! All because of their lack of faith in God who previously had done many miraculous works bringing them out from Egypt.

And how about the reason which in the past has twice brought me back to Jakarta – my parents?

I shall discuss it in the upcoming entry…

Meanwhile, if the message proclaimed is “victory”, I and Aimee shall join him in December… 5 weeks from now. But again, I come to wonder, maybe when Joshua and Caleb spied the Promised Land , what they saw is only one: VICTORY in the name of the Lord.

Let their vision be ours too.

Your grace will lead us through, Lord. You will never leave nor forsake us.

God is always faithful in each of our journey of life
Share your experience in the comments box below :)

