The First Sin of Pride

life with GodIn the midst of my urge posting about mommy tips and sharing, let me instead share this one insight regarding a relationship which is more general one.

There are seasons of my life where I move along and kind of forget to talk with God. Life’s going along just fine and as long as there’s no crisis, I unconciously move God from the front burner to the back burner. “What’s wrong with that?” you might ask. In reality many of us go day after day without praying. Is that really a sin? Well, it’s the sin of pride because pride says, “I can do it on my own, thank you very much. I don’t need Your help, God” (from the Real Moms…Real Jesus)

How I often unconsciously do the same, and this is very dangerous because it seems so subtle compared with other ‘more visible sins’. The things is, the author (Jill Savage) then went on explaining that basically a week or two with prayerless will affect our relationships with other human beings (parents, partner, friends, children, and others).

We are who we hang with and if we’re not hanging around Jesus and spending time with Him, it will often be evident in our interactions with others.

The first sin, sin of pride, directly affect only God. While in later scenario (sin to others because we have not been watching our heart carefully), need to be cleared as well which could be by apologizing for our impatience, irritability and criticism and asking for their forgiveness. But remember, do our busines first with God before we make a deal with others.

“God, I’m so sorry that I’ve been prideful in heart. I don’t want that – I really do want humility and I want to trust You more than I trust me. That’s so hard to do, but I know it’s not impossible. I’m sorry for my pride. Will You please forgive me?”

… and this is God’s answer:

“If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just and will forgive us” – 1 John 1:9

Be blessed as we entering a new week in this January’13 🙂

 

Share your experience in the comments box below :)

