Chain Post: “If You Read This, God will Love You More”

Well, if you really open it because of what I wrote in the title, you might have opened it based on an inccorent assumption (and sorry for the misleading title :P)

Here’s a chunk of truth:

“There’s nothing you can do that will make God loves you more”

I often hear the above statement, but in today’s sermon, Ps. TT Quah asked those who have had kids and to position ourselves as ‘God’ and the children as ‘us’, and suddenly I see a completely new perspective and the above saying becomes ‘more real’ as in not just being processed in my head but sip down to my heart.

What can Aimee do to make me love her more? Exactly nothing! I have loved her, always. Not because of what she does, but because of her status: she is my child.

So are we. God loves us because we are His children, we are His creation. He longs to always be close with us, not in one moment that He is disturbed by our willingness to seek Him in prayer, worshipping, reading His words, and any other acts we could possibly do to be closer to Him.

This is the truth
This is the truth

“However, there are things that you can do to please Him”

Yes, there are things which Aimee could do to please me, by acting cute (hahaha) and mostly is by her obedience; if she do what I advise her.

We are supposed to be just like that, the “God-pleaser”, be the doer!

I know it is hard to obey completely and everytime He tells me to do something and many times I fail. Some other aspects in particular are harder for me e.g. being patience and forgiving. But in some occassions when I am able to obey Him, I feel another source of power overtaking my flesh and my heart tells my head, “clearly it isn’t me, it must be the power of His Holy Spirit”.

“..My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weaknesses” – 2 Corinthians 12:9

And in the midst of my cry out “Lord, please please change my misbehaviour” because of my weaknesses, that is actually one of the intimate moments with God that He allows me to experience.

“That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong” – 2 Corinthians 12:10

 

Thank You Lord for speaking to me in a very simple yet convicting way, to reveal many things about Your character as a loving God and Father through natural things I do and possess in my life: from my relationship with my lil kid Aimee.

I pray that God may use simple and natural things around you in helping you to understand by heart that He really loves you so much, not because of what you have done, but because you are just… you, His children and creation 🙂

2 thoughts on “Chain Post: “If You Read This, God will Love You More”

  1. Wonderful encouraging words,so good to see you visiting! I hope all is well your way and I can tell from this reading it is.
    Love you 😀

    Hi, Pat! I’m happy that you drop a comment and pray that you & your family are well too, protected and loved by our gracious Lord 🙂 xx

  2. Saw the title of your post via twitter and it definitely grabbed by attention because I so dislike receiving those chain emails. But you’re absolutely right God’s love for us has nothing to do with our actions. But our actions can please or displease Him.

    Agree, so we’re at the same side 😀 Thanks for dropping a comment God bless you 🙂

Share your experience in the comments box below :)

