“What Success is” (for me)

 

“Conviction, not recognition” 🌷
 
I used to always work and earn my own salary even when I was still in uni, so becoming a stay-at-home mum with no regular monthly income was a hard kick to my pride and self-esteem, and gave me rough times particularly the hardest throughout early months in this year. 

I cried and I prayed hard, for God to help me in “what should I do/see/hear/believe in”, to discern which was right and what wasn’t. 

Although the answer wasn’t apparent straightaway during my struggles, God is so faithful through it all. I was truly encouraged and finally found the answer through a book I read titled “The Measure of Success – Uncovering Biblical Perspective on Women, Work, and Home” by Carolyn McCulley and Nora Shank. 

God’s own words set me free from wrong principles, and clearly defined that my identity and value aren’t dictated by “what I do/know/own”. My value wasn’t even from becoming a “good mother and wife”. 

My identity is a daughter of Christ, the redeemed, the beloved of God πŸ‘‘β€οΈ – that’s what the Bible wrote about. 

Surely I refuse to be idle, but to be set free from my own wrong judgment lifted up a HUGE burden in my heart and enable me to do what I can do now faithfully, it gives me a fresh start. 

Despite of temptations to go back to the way I thought of what success is, I know what I write/doodle today about “what success is” – this is the answer from Him, and has become my own conviction. 

So yes, I don’t have to wait until I earn certain income, or reach the title “best mother/wife in the neighborhood” (lol). I can be successful EVERYDAY whenever I say that “Yes” to God. Because in the end, what matters is what God thinks of me. That will stand eternally. 

I share my artworks and doodles in my prayer journal everyday in my Instagram account (@crunchynat) and this might be a written long caption lol.. but I just feel the need to testify how God is real and helps me through it all, and finally, thanks for reading til the end ☺️✌🏻️

Share your experience in the comments box below :)

