“Hello 2018 – My Fruitful Year”

It’s (another) new year! Another year gone by (too fast). 2017 for me felt only like 6 months scattered around here and there (where did March – September had gone?) 😅

At this point of life, I never make my “new year resolution” anymore. I have realized that change can happen anytime anyway. And that I’d most likely have forgotten about my resolutions by March of the year. Or simply I’m now much busier with the kids I hardly can find time to sit down and “think” without having several interruptions (at the moment I’m typing my blog with Arielle on my lap 😝).

Nonetheless, being a melancholic person by nature, I still like to be thoughtful and use the moment for life reflection. Yes, I like to reflect on things. Last night I read an email from Crossway.org about questions to ask for yourself on new year. I’d like to answer them in my quiet time. It’s amazing how God always speak during my time of reflection (clearly it is one of my favorite times of the day).

Anyway, I chose the word “fruitful” for this year because this  word is one that I kept on receiving since November last year, during my personal quiet time as well as when on one corporate prayer meeting. My guidance verse is from John 15 (have a read, I still find John 15 is very revealing whenever I read it. “Apart of Me you can do nothing” – always a good reminder as a Christ follower).

I still remember a vision I got on a retreat I came during my early years as a born again Christian (about a decade ago?🤔). I saw a coconut tree 🌴 Later on I knew the meaning of that vision.

Do you know that almost (or all?) parts of the coconut and the tree can be used or turned into something, such as making soap, oil, furniture, brooms, mats, and many more (I found an article titled as “77 Coconut Uses: for Food, Body & Skin Care, Household + more” when I wrote this 😋).

Isn’t it wonderful when (not ‘if’) God can use every part of my life for His purpose, for His glory?

In my motherhood life, marriage life, as a friend, as a daughter, as a sister in Christ, as a community member, as a church minister, as a business owner, as an artist, as a writer, as a worshipper, as an encourager – in everything.

That’d be one of my “wildest dreams”! And the amazing thing is, because I trust and depend on Him to work in me, I have no pressure to “perform”! I only need to follow His lead and make myself available for Him.

God has given me a conviction that my purpose in life can only be found in Him. My life purpose is not found in hoarding the best of this life on earth for my own pleasure. It is not “your best life now on earth”, but He’s given me the best of eternal life through my restored relationship with Christ!

Isaiah 43:7

“Bring all who claim Me as their God,

for I have made them for My glory.

It was I who created them”.

All the blessings and God’s goodness I enjoy in this life still leave me an empty hole that only THE GIVER Himself can fill in.

Yes, God draw me closer to Him with His blessings (I pray that He continues to do this).

For wouldn’t it be sad that if your child loves your presents more than he/she loves you as his/her parent?!

Anyway, I think that’s it for this morning.

To sum up, you and I were created on purpose and for purpose. If you haven’t found yours (like I used to 13 years ago when I hadn’t known Jesus personally),

“Keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for.

Keep on seeking, and you will find.

Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you.

For everyone who asks, receives. Everyone who seeks, find. And to everyone who knocks, the door will be opened”

That is God’s promise in Matthew 7:7-8, and He who promised it is faithful.

I pray that you find your purpose in the right place, in the right Person.

Happy New Year beloved of Christ!

4 thoughts on ““Hello 2018 – My Fruitful Year”

  1. Hi Natalie,
    We are trying to reach you but can’t find your contact email.
    Could you please write to me for a potential collaboration with a faith based client?
    Thanks
    Sayaka from Cadence Media

Share your experience in the comments box below :)